Knowledge base
What do halal, kosher and organic actually mean? We explain the criteria, the certifications and our trust levels with sources and multiple viewpoints — never as a ruling of our own.
Entries
What can I eat? (general guide)
When there's no verified listing for a business or product, the following order works as a rough checklist — though none of it substitutes for formal verification. Look for a certificate first, and identify which body issued it. In Türkiye, HAK accreditation and an independent certifier's own list of certified businesses (such as GİMDES's); elsewhere, the records of authorities such as JAKIM in Malaysia, BPJPH/MUI in Indonesia, or IFANCA in North America — these are far stronger evidence than a bare "halal" claim on a sign, because they show who inspected it and against what standard. (See "Halal certification standards and authorities around the world" for all of these.) If there's no certificate, read the label, but know its limits too. As Diyanet's fatwa council itself notes, an additive carrying an EU-approved "E number" does not by itself indicate halal status — the code only signals legal approval for use, not its source. The origin of ingredients like gelatin, enzymes, or rennet (animal or plant, and if animal, how it was slaughtered) is usually not stated on the label. At that point there are concrete questions worth asking: what is the meat source and slaughter method, is the gelatin/enzyme animal-derived, is alcohol used in cooking, is equipment shared with a kitchen that serves alcohol. If staff can answer these clearly and knowledgeably, that's a good sign — but it's a personal statement, not a formal document. Don't treat criteria as interchangeable. Vegan, organic, alcohol-free, and halal/kosher are separate criteria; one looking "fine" doesn't guarantee another — a vegan product can still contain cooking alcohol, an organic product can still contain non-halal meat, a kosher product can still contain alcohol. If, after all this, all you have is personal observation and a question you asked, that corresponds to the lowest tier in HalalVera's trust system — still better than not checking at all. The goal isn't flawless certainty; it's showing the reasonable care available to you.
Does a vegan menu mean halal?
No — and the difference rests on a more specific reason than it might seem. Per The Vegan Society's definition, a vegan diet contains no ingredient derived from animals at all. That automatically removes an important halal risk: "hidden animal additives" such as gelatin, animal rennet, or carmine (E120, insect-derived) simply cannot be present in a vegan product, because they're excluded by definition. But being vegan does not resolve the one risk that remains: alcohol. Cooking alcohol (wine-based sauces, liqueur, vanilla extract) is plant-derived (grape, grain) and therefore doesn't conflict with the definition of vegan — yet in Islamic law the prohibition on khamr rests on its intoxicating property, not on whether its source is plant or animal. So a menu can be entirely vegan and still be rendered non-halal by a wine-based sauce used in cooking. Likewise, a kitchen that serves alcohol carries a cross-contamination risk if the same pan, cutting board, or prep surface is reused — that risk doesn't disappear because of a vegan label; it has to be asked about separately. The reverse holds too: a halal-certified product can be non-vegan because it contains an animal-derived ingredient (honey, dairy, gelatin from an animal slaughtered by halal method, for instance). Halal certifiers everywhere — IFANCA in North America, JAKIM in Malaysia, GİMDES in Türkiye among them — examine an additive's source by asking "is this animal-derived material obtained by halal method?" — not "does this contain no animal material at all?" These are different criteria, and the answer to one doesn't determine the other. Practical takeaway: a vegan listing substantially reduces the risk of hidden animal additives but does not automatically close the alcohol or cross-contamination question; a user looking for both halal and vegan needs to verify each criterion separately.
What does "alcohol-free environment" mean?
"Alcohol-free environment" actually covers two separate questions, each judged on different grounds: (1) whether the business serves alcohol, and (2) whether cooking alcohol (wine-based sauces, liqueur, vanilla extract) is used in preparing the food. If you're only looking for the service policy, the first is enough; if you have an ingredient-level sensitivity, the second needs to be asked separately. The service side is clear: the Qur'an forbids intoxicating drink (khamr), and this prohibition holds regardless of quantity. This isn't one council's opinion — Diyanet's fatwa council affirms it, and AMJA (the Assembly of Muslim Jurists of America) repeats the same basic prohibition in its own fatwas, grounding it in the intoxicating property itself. Cooking alcohol is where fatwa councils around the world genuinely differ from one another. Diyanet's High Council's current fatwa holds that adding an alcoholic drink such as wine while cooking is not permissible, reasoning that even though some alcohol evaporates during cooking, it does not disappear entirely. AMJA's fatwa on the topic reaches a similar caution from its own reasoning: since one cannot be certain the alcohol has evaporated completely, and scholars disagree on the underlying question, it treats the result as "doubtful" (mashbouh) and recommends avoiding it. A different position found in classical fiqh literature, by contrast, holds that once wine undergoes a chemical change in cooking and completely loses its intoxicating property — under the concept of istihlâk — it no longer counts as khamr and is therefore permissible; this line also cites a view attributed to Abu Hanifa and Abu Yusuf that ethyl alcohol from non-grape, non-date sources, in a quantity that does not intoxicate, may be used in food and medicine. AMJA's own fatwa archive contains a version of this same range: a stricter position holds that any amount of an intoxicating substance is forbidden, while a more lenient position (attributed to Sheikh Uthaymeen) permits it once the quantity is so diluted it has no perceptible effect on the mixture — on that basis, AMJA finds vanilla extract in ice cream permissible, since the final product itself isn't intoxicating. HalalVera does not take a side between these positions; a user who wants to know which one applies should ask the business directly. A separate matter is the trace amount of alcohol that forms naturally (through processes like fermentation) in some foods. The relevant Diyanet fatwa states that such trace amounts, lacking any intoxicating purpose or property, are not forbidden; Türkiye's Food Codex likewise caps the ethyl alcohol that can arise naturally from the production process of non-alcoholic beverages at 3.0 grams per liter. Indonesia's MUI Fatwa No. 10 of 2018 follows a similar threshold logic: ethyl alcohol from a non-khamr source that is medically harmless is permissible in beverages provided it stays under 0.5% by volume, and in food provided the final product has no detectable alcohol — different councils land on different numeric thresholds, but converge on the same principle, that a natural trace amount with no intoxicating effect is not forbidden. "Non-alcoholic beer" is a separate case from this: per Diyanet's fatwa, it is not considered permissible to drink, because the product goes through the same production process as regular beer and retains a small amount of alcohol — a further reason cited is that, whatever the name, it still supports the alcoholic beverage industry. Practical takeaway: an "alcohol-free" badge reflects the service policy; cooking alcohol and trace amounts are separate questions and should be verified separately on HalalVera.
What is halal, and how is it verified? A balance between two extremes
The food prohibitions in the Qur'an and hadith are, in fact, limited. What the Qur'an explicitly forbids is pork, blood, carrion (an animal dead before slaughter), and anything slaughtered in the name of other than God; hadith adds predatory animals with canine teeth, birds of prey that hunt with talons, and donkey meat — Türkiye's Presidency of Religious Affairs (Diyanet) High Council of Religious Affairs lists this same breakdown on its own fatwa page. One of Islamic legal theory's foundational maxims is "the default state of things is permissibility": absent clear evidence to the contrary, something is presumed halal. Put those two facts together and the directly-forbidden list is short, leaving a wide permissible space. What complicates this isn't religion — it's modern food technology: a handful of forbidden sources (chiefly pork, carrion and alcohol) now feed into hundreds of additives, which in turn spread across thousands of products. Diyanet's own fatwa council sums this up plainly — an additive carrying an EU-approved "E number" says nothing about its halal status, because an E number only signals legal approval for use, not its source; each additive has to be examined individually. This isn't a Turkey-specific method: the world's major certifiers apply the same ingredient-by-ingredient logic (JAKIM in Malaysia, BPJPH/MUI in Indonesia, IFANCA in North America), and AMJA (the Assembly of Muslim Jurists of America) makes the same point in one of its own fatwas, stating that Muslim communities need certification agencies to verify what the market claims to be halal. This is exactly why HalalVera's product pages carry an "Additives" panel: for an uncertified product, you have to look at each ingredient on its own. The same additive can land on different rulings at different institutions, because a few technical concepts of Islamic jurisprudence come into play. Istihâle is when a ritually impure substance's structure changes completely into a different substance (per the TDV İslâm Ansiklopedisi's definition) — the debate over pork-derived gelatin comes directly from this: experts disagree on whether the change collagen undergoes during production counts as a "true transformation" or merely a "separation". Diyanet's High Council, in its own fatwa, treats it as separation and does not consider pork-derived gelatin halal — for them, the origin is what determines the ruling. Istihlâk, by contrast, is when a small amount of a forbidden substance mixes into a much larger amount of a permissible one and loses its own taste, smell and color — academic literature treats this as a distinct concept not to be confused with istihâle. Umûmü'l-belvâ is when a situation is so widespread and unavoidable in society that certain rulings are eased in light of that prevalence; zaruret (necessity) is the state of serious compulsion that grants an exceptional allowance in order to protect a fundamental right, chief among them the right to life. Because institutions weigh these concepts differently, the same additive can be permitted by one authority and not by another — that isn't arbitrariness, it reflects different lines of legal reasoning. Certification reduces this uncertainty but doesn't end it by itself, because wherever in the world a certifier operates, it repeats the same basic structure: a state authority or an independent body, inspecting against its own standard. In Türkiye, the Halal Accreditation Agency (HAK), established in 2017, is the sole official authority that accredits halal-certifying bodies; since 2023 this accreditation has been mandatory for products sold domestically. GİMDES has operated as Türkiye's first independent halal certifier since 2005. The same model runs elsewhere: in Malaysia, JAKIM issues a state-backed certificate (the MS 1500:2019 standard); in Indonesia, BPJPH certifies as the official authority with the backing of MUI's fatwa council; in North America, IFANCA has certified through the private sector since 1982; in the UK, HMC and HFA inspect at different levels of strictness (see the separate "Halal certification standards around the world" article for how these bodies work). Internationally, SMIIC — under the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation — publishes the OIC/SMIIC 1 halal food standard to build common ground among member states, though this hasn't yet become one unified global standard. In the end, a certificate's strength depends on who issued it and what accreditation that body holds — "certified" alone doesn't say which position it was inspected against, but it is far stronger evidence than an unverified claim. Faced with all of this, both extremes are mistakes: consuming anything without ever looking at the brand, the ingredients, or a certificate on one side; turning life unlivable with endless suspicion of every product on the other. A classical example from the fiqh tradition is instructive here: someone who doesn't know the direction of prayer and turns, having done what they reasonably could (asking, investigating), is not required to repeat the prayer even if it later turns out they faced the wrong way — responsibility rests on the effort made, not the outcome. The same logic applies to food: someone who reads labels, chooses reputable brands, asks the right questions, and checks certificates, yet still unknowingly consumes something impermissible despite all that care, bears no responsibility for it. Someone acting with heightened caution and someone relying on a broader allowance both deserve respect, as long as each is grounded in their own genuine effort — neither should judge the other. What HalalVera does here is exactly that: not hand you a ruling, but put the information in front of you so you can make your own call.
What does the nutrition facts table say?
A product page's nutrition table looks, at first glance, like a simple list of numbers, but reading it correctly means knowing four separate distinctions: the base (100g or per serving), reference percentages, the salt/sodium conversion, and the types of sugar. 100g/100ml vs. per serving: Article 32 of the EU's Regulation 1169/2011 makes it MANDATORY to express energy and nutrient amounts per 100g or 100ml; a per-serving expression (Article 33) is only an OPTIONAL addition, and when used, the serving size itself must also be stated on the pack. In the US, the FDA's Nutrition Facts label works with the opposite priority — the primary unit is the serving: you look first at the number of servings per container, then the serving size, and every number on the label is relative to that serving; eating an entire package might mean eating four servings, in which case the calories are four times what's shown. So when comparing two products, check which base the table uses (100g or serving) first — if the base differs, the numbers cannot be compared directly. Reference intake percentages: in the EU, the "reference intake" percentage is calculated against an assumed average adult daily need of 8,400 kJ / 2,000 kcal (Articles 32-33). In the US the same idea is applied under the name "% Daily Value" (%DV), and per FDA's own guide, 5% DV or less of a nutrient per serving is read as "low" and 20% DV or more as "high". Both apply the same logic under a different name and reference value: personal needs vary by age, sex, and activity level — the percentages are a general comparison tool, not a personal prescription. Salt/sodium conversion: some tables say "sodium", others say "salt", and the two are not the same number. EU law defines the official conversion formula: salt = sodium × 2.5 (Regulation 1169/2011, Article 2(2)(11)). So a product with 400mg of sodium has a salt equivalent of about 1 gram. Without knowing this formula, it's easy to underestimate (or, the other way, overestimate) a product's salt content just by looking at a sodium figure that "looks low". Types of sugar: under the FDA's distinction, Total Sugars is the sum of sugar naturally present in things like milk or fruit plus any sugar added during processing, and no daily reference value has been set for it. Added Sugars separately shows items added during processing — sucrose or dextrose, syrups, honey, concentrated fruit-juice sugars — and a reference value does exist for that figure. "Sugar-free" and "no added sugar" therefore do not say the same thing. A note of honesty about the nutrition section on HalalVera's product pages: this table is not HalalVera's own lab measurement — it comes from Open Food Facts, an open, contribution-based database, and rests on what whoever entered the data (a manufacturer or a volunteer contributor) declared; HalalVera does not separately verify these numbers. For the same reason, the table may appear per 100g on some products and per serving on others — comparing two products without checking which base is used can be misleading. This is consistent with the platform's own trust-tier framing (see "What do trust tiers on HalalVera mean?"): the nutrition table is not a certified measurement, it is a declaration. The information in this article is for information only, not health advice; a reader with a specific health condition or dietary need should consult a professional.
How to read a food label
A food label carries several distinct layers of information at once: the ingredient list, allergen emphasis, marketing language, and date information. Each layer has its own rule for reading it. Ingredient order: both the EU (Regulation 1169/2011, Article 18) and the US (21 CFR 101.4) apply the same basic principle — ingredients are listed in descending order by the weight used in manufacturing. The first few items on the list are the food's main components; items appearing toward the end (colourings, preservatives, flavourings, etc.) are present in smaller amounts. US rules also carve out an exception: ingredients present at 2% or less by weight can be grouped at the end of the list under a statement like "contains 2% or less of...", and the order within that group doesn't necessarily reflect weight. Allergen emphasis: the EU requires the allergens listed in Annex II (gluten-containing cereals, crustaceans, eggs, fish, peanuts, soybeans, milk, tree nuts, celery, mustard, sesame, sulphites, lupin, molluscs, and similar) to be visually set apart in the ingredient list through a different font, style, or background (Article 21). In the US, FALCPA and the 2021 FASTER Act require nine major allergens (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soy, sesame) to be named explicitly on the label. The two systems use different techniques (emphasis vs. explicit naming) to serve the same purpose: not having to hunt through the list to find an allergen. Terms like "natural", "additive-free", or "pure" are not the same category as protected certification marks. Article 7 of the EU's Regulation 1169/2011 ("fair information practices") requires that food information not be misleading and not imply qualities the food doesn't have, but it does not set a single, independently audited, standard definition for the word "natural" itself — that remains the manufacturer's own marketing choice. By contrast, marks like halal, kosher, organic, or vegan are protected marks backed by an accredited body's inspection and a defined standard (see "How do halal certification bodies work?", "How do kosher certification marks (hechsher) work?", "How does organic certification work?", "What's the difference between vegan and vegetarian?"). A package saying "natural" does not mean it passed any body's inspection; a package saying "halal certified" indicates a defined inspection process stands behind it. "Use by" and "best before" say different things. Article 24 of Regulation 1169/2011 draws the line clearly: for foods that are highly perishable from a microbiological standpoint and could pose a danger to health after a short time, a "use by" date is used — after that date, the food is deemed unsafe. Other products carry a "best before" date (date of minimum durability) — an indication that the product keeps its specific properties until that date, not that it will spoil immediately after. Turkey's own Turkish Food Codex Food Labeling and Consumer Information Regulation applies a framework aligned with EU law and is updated regularly. The practical takeaway: reading a label comes down to three questions in order — what are the first few ingredients (the main components), is one of the allergens present (look for the emphasised/named text), and which kind of date is it (use-by or best-before). Marketing language doesn't change the answer to any of the three.
Additives and health: what we know, what we don’t
Codes like "E160a" or "E621" on an ingredient list often read as a warning in themselves. In reality, an E number only says a substance is a recognised, authorised additive in the EU — the code itself means neither "harmful" nor "harmless"; the real question is what process that approval went through, and whether that process is still considered current today. In the EU, the assessment is carried out by EFSA (the European Food Safety Authority). All 315 additives approved before 2009 are required to be re-evaluated, a programme that is still ongoing — over 70% have been re-reviewed so far. Re-evaluation is not a one-time check: when new data emerges or a data gap is found, EFSA can reopen a file by publishing a "follow-up opinion". So an additive being approved does not mean the research on it is finished. In the US, the FDA runs two separate tracks: direct food-additive approval (a premarket petition and review) and GRAS status (Generally Recognized as Safe), established either through scientific procedures or, for pre-1958 substances, through a documented history of common use — though a GRAS claim still requires the same quantity and quality of scientific evidence as a food-additive approval. JECFA, jointly run by WHO and FAO (an international expert committee that has met since 1956), works across borders: it sets Acceptable Daily Intake (ADI) values and forms the scientific basis for Codex Alimentarius — but JECFA itself does not impose approval or a ban on any country; that decision still rests with national authorities. A concrete example of these three authorities reaching different conclusions about the same substance at different times is titanium dioxide (E171). EFSA asked for more research in 2016 due to data gaps; in 2021, using an updated methodology for nanotechnology and thousands of new studies, it re-evaluated the substance and, unable to rule out a genotoxicity (DNA-damage) risk, concluded it could "no longer be considered safe" — the EU banned E171 in food as a result, in 2022. At the same time, in the US, the FDA kept the same substance in use (capped at 1% by weight), only opening a new review in 2023 following a petition. The same body of scientific literature can lead different authorities to different conclusions at different thresholds. That is exactly what the "Controversial" badge is meant to convey: when an additive on HalalVera's product-page additive panel is marked "Controversial", it does not mean the substance is banned — it means it is authorised, but either still under active research or a subject of disagreement between authorities. The note under the panel says so explicitly: informational, not health advice. The practical takeaway: to learn about a product's additives, start with the additive panel on its product page — the code, the name, and the "Controversial" badge (where it applies) are shown together there. Whether and how much to avoid a given substance, and for whom it matters, is a personal decision; this article and the panel only answer the question of what is known, with its source attached.
Community rules
HalalVera's community section — questions, answers, reviews and business suggestions — is part of an evidence-based discovery product. There is one expectation here: what you write should be something another person can rely on while deciding. What to write — Write your own experience, what you saw, what you know first-hand. Concrete observations — "they said they use separate equipment in the kitchen", "the menu listed a certificate number" — are far more useful than blanket verdicts like "this place is halal". If you heard something second-hand, say so. Evidence expectations — The stronger the claim, the clearer the evidence behind it has to be. If you mention a certificate, name the body that issued it and, where possible, the document number; if you mention a practice, say when you observed it. Community input is a separate side channel in the platform's trust tiers: a review or an answer does not on its own make a listing "verified". Badge and tier decisions — certification and field verification in particular — stay with the HalalVera team. No religious rulings — This is not a place for issuing rulings. On contested questions (mechanical slaughter, stunning, cooking alcohol) it helps to report what each side holds; declaring one position the single truth takes away the reader's ability to set their own threshold. Abuse — The following are removed, and repetition leads to account restrictions: unfounded accusations aimed at a business, fake reviews written for competitive reasons, sharing personal data, insults and hate speech, posting the same content over and over, and attempting to claim a listing you do not own. If you have a serious problem with a business, use the report path rather than a review — reports are reviewed one by one by the team. Corrections — If you see wrong information, report it; fixing a record is worth more than accusing anyone. If something you wrote turns out to be wrong, you are expected to correct it — that is not a punishable matter. This text is guidance on how to contribute. The binding legal framework is the "Account and Community Content" and "Prohibited Uses" sections of the Terms of Use; where the two disagree, the Terms of Use govern.
What do trust tiers on HalalVera mean?
Not every listing on HalalVera is backed by the same level of evidence — rather than hiding that difference, the platform makes it visible. The badge next to a listing shows what KIND of evidence a claim rests on; it is not a religious ruling on whether the claim itself is true. The tiers are ordered by strength of evidence: Web-sourced (lowest — information compiled from a third-party source that the business hasn't yet confirmed), Declared (the owner's own statement — HalalVera records it as given, without vouching for its accuracy), Referrer-verified (information passed along by a user or partner source), Certified (based on a document issued by an independent third-party body — that document itself still needs to be weighed by which body issued it), Field-verified (confirmed by an on-site HalalVera team visit, the highest tier), and Community (user reviews — a separate side channel that does not substitute for formal verification). Why it matters: the single word "verified" doesn't always mean the same level of confidence. A certified listing and one that rests only on the owner's own declaration can look similar at a glance, but the evidence behind them is very different. Showing which tier a listing sits in, and when the evidence was collected, lets a user set their own decision threshold. A boundary: this tiering is not a system of religious rulings — it does not decide which slaughter method or which ingredient is "correct". It only gives a transparent answer to the question "what do we have for this claim, and how solid is it".
The difference between vegetarian and vegan
"Vegetarian" and "vegan" are often used interchangeably, but they are defined differently, and the difference has real practical consequences — especially when eating out. The definitional difference: per The Vegan Society's definition, a vegan diet contains NO animal-derived component at all — meat, fish, dairy, eggs, honey and their derivatives are all excluded. Vegetarianism excludes only meat and fish; it has subcategories — lacto-vegetarian (dairy allowed), ovo-vegetarian (eggs allowed), lacto-ovo-vegetarian (both allowed), and so on. So every vegan is also vegetarian, but not every vegetarian is vegan. The practical kitchen difference: a vegetarian menu can still include cheese, butter, cream, egg-based sauces (like mayonnaise), or honey-sweetened desserts — none of which are vegan. A customer who assumes a "vegetarian"-labeled item is vegan may unknowingly consume these ingredients. Cross-contamination risk: if the same kitchen prepares vegan, vegetarian, and regular dishes, using the same pan, the same oil, or the same cutting board can cause cross-contamination. At an uncertified business, the way to rule this out is to ask the business directly about its preparation process. Practical takeaway: a "vegetarian" menu item does not mean vegan; a user who needs certainty should not treat the two labels as interchangeable and should ask about each separately.
Vegan certification marks: V-Label and the Vegan Trademark
Because the word "vegan" has no mandatory legal definition in most countries, an independent mark on a product offers a different level of assurance than the manufacturer's own claim. V-Label: a Europe-based vegan/vegetarian mark used on more than 70,000 products across 50+ countries. The process works through document review of the product, ingredients and suppliers, followed by regular inspection at the production site; the annual on-site audit separately checks ingredients, processing aids and cross-contamination risk. The Vegan Society's Vegan Trademark: one of the oldest marks in the space, dating to 1990. The process requires a brand to submit detailed documentation for each product — a full ingredient list, processing aids, and supplier declarations confirming no animal-derived substance was used at any stage. It typically takes 30-60 days; the license runs 12 or 24 months, with a halfway check-in on the 24-month license. Its explicit coverage of processing aids (substances used in manufacturing that don't remain in the final product) is one of the things that makes this mark particularly strict. Uncertified "vegan-friendly" claims: a business can describe its own menu as "vegan" without that meaning it has passed independent audit — a self-declaration and third-party certification are different levels of assurance. Practical takeaway: seeing V-Label or the Vegan Trademark shows the product passed independent review; an unmarked "vegan" claim is the business's own declaration and can reasonably be questioned further.
How does organic certification actually work?
Organic certification is not a one-time document but an ongoing status subject to continuous inspection — the producer is re-examined every year, and the certificate can be suspended or revoked if a deviation from the standard is found. Transition period: when conventional land converts to organic production, a waiting period applies until the effect of prior synthetic inputs in the soil has passed — typically two to three years (the exact standard can vary by crop and jurisdiction). Produce grown during this period cannot yet be sold as "organic". Annual inspection: an independent control/certification body reviews production records (seed, fertilizer, and pesticide use, harvest logs), conducts a site visit, and — for livestock — reviews animal-welfare practices (pasture access, feed source, confirmation that hormones/routine antibiotics were not used). If the inspection isn't passed, the certificate isn't issued for that period, or an existing one is suspended. Traceability and buffer zones: where organic and conventional production happen side by side, a buffer zone is required to prevent cross-contamination. At every stage of post-harvest processing, packaging and shipping, the organic batch must be kept separate from conventional batches and recorded — this is what lets the batch/lot number on the package be traced backward. Practical takeaway: "organic" means the producing operation WAS inspected and passed within a given date range — not that the product was inspected at the moment it was made; if the certificate has expired or been suspended, the label is no longer current.
Reading organic label symbols
Not every product labeled "organic" has passed the same inspection; the logo showing which region's certification applies is the fastest way to understand what rule it was actually produced under. USDA Organic (US): a green-and-white circular seal. It shows the product contains at least 95% organic content and was produced without synthetic pesticides, synthetic fertilizers, ionizing radiation or genetically modified organisms; it is inspected by an independent certifier accredited by the USDA. The EU organic logo ("Euro-leaf"): a green leaf made of stars, symbolizing Europe (the stars) and nature (the leaf). It has been mandatory on pre-packaged organic food produced in the EU since 1 July 2010, and likewise requires at least 95% organic content. The code number of the inspecting control body appears next to the logo. The US-EU equivalency arrangement: thanks to mutual recognition between the two regions, a product covered by the arrangement can carry the USDA seal, the EU logo, or both — meaning it doesn't need to be certified separately, twice. Türkiye: control and certification bodies authorized by the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry inspect the product; the label must carry the organic farming logo alongside the inspecting body's name and code number — a traceability logic close to the EU model. Label tiers matter too: in the US, "100% organic", "organic" (at least 95%) and "made with organic ingredients" (at least 70%) are separate categories, each carrying a different level of assurance.
Halal certification standards and authorities around the world
Halal certification has no single worldwide central authority — instead there is a set of bodies, each operating in its own region under its own standard. This article introduces the major ones you'll run into in HalalVera's records and source lists; it doesn't rule on which is "more correct" — it shows who each one is and how it works. If you're wondering what stages a certificate goes through from application to issuance, see "How do halal certification bodies work?" — this article only maps who these bodies are. JAKIM (Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia — the Department of Islamic Development Malaysia), established in 1997, is the official government authority responsible for halal certification in Malaysia. Certification runs on the MS 1500:2019 standard ("Halal Food — Production, Preparation, Handling and Storage — General Guidelines") through the MYeHALAL portal; JAKIM also publishes which foreign certification bodies it recognises for imports into Malaysia. Malaysia's state-backed model has made JAKIM certification a de facto export reference point in many countries. In Indonesia, the official certifying authority has been BPJPH (Badan Penyelenggara Jaminan Produk Halal) since 2019 — a body under the Presidency, based on Law No. 33 of 2014; the power to issue, revoke, and recognise foreign certificates sits with BPJPH. MUI (Majelis Ulama Indonesia — the Indonesian Ulema Council) is involved as the body that issues the fatwa ruling; its inspection arm, LPPOM, works as the independent inspection body that examines the production process, raw materials, and halal assurance system — the inspection's findings feed MUI's fatwa decision, and that fatwa in turn underlies BPJPH's certificate. So in the Indonesian model, the state authority (BPJPH), the religious council (MUI), and the technical inspection (LPPOM) are three distinct layers. In the UAE, halal regulation today runs through MOIAT (the Ministry of Industry and Advanced Technology, formerly ESMA — the Emirates Authority for Standardization and Metrology); products must hold a certificate from a certification body registered with MOIAT, and compliant products carry the "Halal National Mark". The UAE.S 2055 standard is largely aligned with the GSO 2055 series published by the GSO (Gulf Standardization Organization, a regional body covering the Gulf Cooperation Council states); GSO 2055-1:2015 defines the general requirements halal food must meet at every stage of the supply chain (raw material, preparation, packaging, labelling, transport, storage, point of sale) — an effort to build common ground among Gulf states. SMIIC (the Standards and Metrology Institute for Islamic Countries) is a body under the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), headquartered in Istanbul. It publishes the OIC/SMIIC 1 halal food standard and the OIC/SMIIC 2 conformity-assessment standard to ease mutual recognition among member states' accreditation bodies — that is, to build a common technical language so national authorities like JAKIM and HAK can more easily recognise each other's certificates. This effort hasn't yet turned into one unified global standard; SMIIC is an overarching framework, not a replacement for national authorities. Two large private-sector bodies stand out in North America. IFANCA (the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America), founded in 1982, certifies food, cosmetics, pharmaceuticals and personal-care products under its "Crescent-M" mark and is a founding member of the World Halal Food Council. The American Halal Foundation (AHF), tracing its history to one of the first formal halal audits its founder conducted in 1983, states that its US-based certificate is backed by accreditations from authorities including BPJPH (Indonesia), JAKIM (Malaysia) and GAC (Saudi Arabia), making it suitable for multi-country export. Bodies such as AMJA (the Assembly of Muslim Jurists of America) don't issue certificates, but produce fatwas on fiqh questions specific to the Western context (slaughter, cooking alcohol, and the like). Two long-standing bodies in the UK offer different levels of strictness. The Halal Monitoring Committee (HMC), established in 2003, is an independent charity; it applies a no-stunning, hand-slaughter-only requirement for poultry and red meat and keeps its monitors continuously present at the abattoir and processing plant — it states it has the backing of more than 600 mosques. The Halal Food Authority (HFA) is one of the UK's long-established bodies in this space, auditing and certifying meat, beverages, cosmetics and pharmaceuticals. The two bodies' inspection approaches are not the same — another example of why "halal certified in the UK" alone doesn't say which standard something was inspected against. In Türkiye, the official accreditation authority is the Halal Accreditation Agency (HAK) — established in 2017 under the Ministry of Trade, the sole official body that accredits halal certifiers; since 2023 this accreditation has been mandatory for products sold domestically, including imports. GİMDES, active since 2005, is Türkiye's first independent halal certifier and states it holds mutual recognition arrangements with bodies such as JAKIM, MUI, ESMA and IFANCA. Structurally, Türkiye's model resembles Malaysia's — state accreditation plus independent certifiers. This isn't a hierarchy, it's a map: no body sits "above" another, each is the authority in its own region, and the differences between them — especially on points like stunning and mechanical slaughter — are real and lasting. The question to ask when weighing a certificate isn't "is it halal or not" but "which body inspected it, against which standard, and when".
Gelatin and enzymes: the hidden ingredients in halal food
A product looking "plant-based" or containing no visible meat does not make it halal — the real risk sits in additives that appear as a single word on the ingredient list with an unstated source. Gelatin: usually produced from pig skin/bone or from beef/veal not slaughtered by Islamic method; it's common in sweets, confectionery, capsule coatings and the clarifying (fining) of some beverages. The source is mostly not disclosed on packaging — the word "gelatin" alone doesn't tell you enough. Rennet: traditional animal rennet, used in classic cheesemaking, comes from a calf's stomach lining, and whether that animal was slaughtered by halal method is usually untraceable. Microbial rennet (from fungi or bacteria, containing no animal material) and plant-based coagulants, by contrast, carry no source problem — look for "microbial enzyme" or "vegetable rennet" on the label. The transparency gap: many countries' food-labeling laws do not require manufacturers to disclose whether an enzyme is animal, plant, or microbial in origin; the product is listed as "enzyme" or "gelatin" without a source. That means a consumer usually cannot decide from the label alone. Practical takeaway: for a product with gelatin or enzymes of unclear origin, the most reliable path is to look for halal certification from a recognized body (HAK-accredited, GİMDES, IFANCA, and similar) or to ask the business directly for the source — assuming "it looks vegetarian" is not enough on its own.
Contested points in halal slaughter: mechanical slaughter and stunning
There is broad agreement on the core requirements of halal slaughter — an Islamic-method throat cut, the invocation of God's name, and draining the blood — but on two technical points, certifying bodies genuinely differ. HalalVera does not take a side here; it records what each body's own published standard says. Stunning: some authorities — for example JAKIM's MS 1500:2019 standard in Malaysia and MUI in Indonesia — permit certain stunning methods provided the animal is still alive at the moment of slaughter. By contrast, bodies such as the UK-based Halal Monitoring Committee (HMC) do not accept stunning in any form and do not allow it at their certified facilities. This is a clear example that there is no single "halal answer"; a consumer needs to separately learn which position a given certificate represents. Mechanical slaughter: automated lines for poultry are accepted by some bodies (again, as under JAKIM's standard), on condition the line is operated by a Muslim and the invocation is made continuously or per bird. Other bodies (HMC, SANHA among them) reject mechanical slaughter; their objection centers on whether a single recorded or line-start invocation satisfies the requirement — obligatory in some schools of jurisprudence — that the invocation be made individually for each animal. Bottom line: on these two points there isn't one "correct" answer so much as several different, internally consistent positions held by different bodies. A user who wants certainty should look at the certifying body's own published standard.
How do halal certification bodies work?
Details vary from body to body, but halal certification runs on a common skeleton. The steps below summarize the common ground across procedures published by bodies from different regions (JAKIM, IFANCA, GİMDES among them) — this isn't "the one official procedure"; each body's own manual is authoritative. For who these bodies are and where each is authoritative, see "Halal certification standards and authorities around the world". Application and scope-setting: the business defines what it wants certified (a single product, a production line, or the entire facility) on the application form. This step is decisive, because the final certificate will only cover the scope drawn here — JAKIM's MYeHALAL portal, for instance, logs applications separately by product and by facility. Formulation and supply-chain review: the body reviews the formulation and ingredient list on paper, asking for the source (animal/plant/microbial) of risk-bearing inputs such as gelatin, enzymes, and flavorings, and for a supplier's own halal certificate where one exists. If an intermediate ingredient in the supply chain is undocumented and its source can't be verified, the process stops here. On-site audit: if the paperwork holds up, a site visit follows — the abattoir, production line, or kitchen is actually inspected to confirm equipment is protected from cross-contact with non-halal material (separate lines, cleaning protocols) and that the slaughter itself met procedural requirements (the invocation, the qualifications of the person performing the cut). Audit intensity differs by body: the UK-based HMC states it keeps a monitor continuously present at the abattoir, while most bodies work through periodic visits instead. Issuing the certificate — the limits of scope: if approved, the certificate is issued, but it always covers a defined scope and term — typically limited to the named facility/line and product list. A new branch the business opens later, or a new product it adds, is not automatically covered; that requires a separate application or scope extension. Validity periods vary by body but are typically around a year, and the certificate does not renew itself when that period ends. Surveillance audits and renewal: throughout the certificate's term, the body runs scheduled or unannounced interim audits (surveillance) to confirm compliance continues; a formulation change, a supplier change, or a nonconformity found during audit can lead to suspension. Renewal is a scaled-down repeat of the application process — the file is updated and the site is revisited. The accreditation layer — who audits whom: the certifying body itself is usually assessed by a body above it in turn, which is why certification and accreditation are two distinct layers that shouldn't be conflated. Türkiye's HAK makes this clear: HAK does not issue certificates directly to businesses — it reviews and accredits certifying bodies' audit systems, staff competence, and impartiality, meaning HAK's "customers" are the certifying bodies themselves, not businesses. A body being accredited doesn't mean its certificates are automatically recognized in every country; it only means that body is overseen by the official authority in its own country. Bottom line: the question to ask when weighing a certificate isn't just "does it have one" but "what scope does it cover, when was it issued, which accreditation is it under, and is it passing its surveillance audits".
Glatt kosher and the dairy/meat/pareve distinction
"Glatt kosher" is often used colloquially to mean "definitely kosher", but its technical meaning is much narrower and applies only to red meat. What glatt (Yiddish for "smooth") means: if the post-slaughter inspection finds no adhesions (sirchot) on the animal's lungs, the meat is classified glatt. Animals with adhesions that are examined and found unproblematic are still standard kosher — glatt is a stricter sub-category, not a marker that something else "isn't kosher". The term has no technical equivalent for poultry, fish or dairy; using it there, while common in everyday speech, is a loose usage. In the US, most major agencies including the OU now certify only glatt meat. The dairy/meat/pareve distinction: in a kosher kitchen every item falls into one of three categories — dairy (D), meat (M), or pareve (P — neither meat nor dairy, such as vegetables, fruit, fish or eggs). Dairy and meat are not eaten together in the same meal; separate utensils, separate preparation surfaces, and a waiting period that varies by tradition (typically several hours) apply. The practical takeaway for eating out: a restaurant being kosher requires checking both that its hechsher is current and the D/M/P classification of each menu item separately — even where "glatt" appears, it is only an extra assurance level for red meat.
Kosher rules during Passover (Pesach)
Kosher rules tighten during the week of Passover, and in some respects differ between Jewish traditions. Chametz (leavened product): anything made from wheat, barley, rye, oats or spelt that has come into contact with moisture and leavened is chametz — bread, beer, most whisky. The chametz prohibition is shared by all Jewish traditions, and during Passover it is forbidden both to eat it and to possess it. Kitniyot: rice, corn, legumes and similar items are not chametz, but Ashkenazi tradition has, as a centuries-old precaution, avoided eating them during Passover too — the reasoning being the risk of confusing their flour with real chametz flour once ground. Sephardic tradition permits kitniyot on Passover. This is a clear example that "kosher" is not one single rule set. The "Kosher for Passover" label: even a product that is kosher year-round may not be suitable for Passover if it hasn't passed the season's additional inspection — some processed foods, for instance, can carry chametz residue from a shared production line. For that reason a seasonal "Kosher for Passover" mark, separate from the year-round hechsher, is what to look for. Bottom line: whether a product is suitable for Passover depends both on which tradition (Ashkenazi/Sephardic) is asking and on the seasonal certification — the general "kosher" label alone does not answer the question.
The kosher slaughter process: shechita, nikkur, kashering
Kosher meat is not the result of a single step but of several distinct inspection stages in sequence; if any one of them is missed, the product is not kosher. Shechita: the cut is made by a trained, licensed slaughterer (shochet), with a flawlessly sharp and nick-free blade, in a single motion across the throat. The aim is a fast, minimally painful cut, and the procedure follows rules rooted in the Torah. Bedika and nikkur: after slaughter, the animal's internal organs — especially the lungs — are examined for adhesions (sirchot); this inspection is also the basis of the "glatt" classification (see below). A separate specialised procedure, nikkur, removes the forbidden fat layer (chelev) and the sciatic nerve (gid hanasheh); this is its own trained trade. Kashering (removing blood): meat must be purged of blood before it can be eaten. The standard method is soak-salt-rinse — the meat soaks in water for about half an hour, is salted, then rinsed; this must begin within 72 hours of slaughter. The alternative method is broiling (used especially for liver). Today all of these stages are carried out largely at the slaughterhouse itself, under the certifying agency's supervision — which is why the hechsher represents trust in a process, not in one individual.
How do kosher certification marks (hechsher) work?
The word "kosher" on a package is not, by itself, a guarantee — the real information is the small symbol printed alongside it, the hechsher. Each hechsher identifies the agency that inspected the product, and agencies are independent of one another; the same product can be kosher under one agency's standard and fall short of another's. The most common marks in North America are the circled U (OU, Orthodox Union), the circled K (OK, OK Kosher Certification), Star-K's star-K emblem, and Kof-K's emblem. Each agency runs its own inspection team, sets its own acceptance criteria, and covers its own scope — some certify only in certain countries or product categories. The small letter next to the symbol carries information too: "D" (dairy — contains dairy or was produced on a dairy line), "M" (meat), "P" (pareve — neither meat nor dairy), though "P" can also mean a product cleared additional inspection for Passover ("Kosher for Passover") depending on the agency — when it's ambiguous, the agency's own explanation is the reference. A practical checklist for a product or business: (1) identify the symbol, (2) confirm which agency it belongs to, (3) check that agency's current certified-product or certified-business list to confirm the item is still in scope — certifications are time-limited and can be revoked, so the symbol on the package alone does not guarantee it is current.
Halal and kosher compared
Halal and kosher are the food rules of two different systems of religious law. They look similar, but they do not substitute for each other. Authority. Halal has no single central body: national institutions and private certifiers (HAK in Türkiye, JAKIM in Malaysia, IFANCA in the United States, among others) issue certificates, and differences between schools of jurisprudence show up in the standards. Kosher supervision rests on rabbinic courts (beth din) and agencies such as OU, OK and Star-K. Slaughter. Both require a throat cut performed by a trained slaughterer, with the blood drained. Halal requires the name of God to be invoked at slaughter; kashrut focuses on the rules of shechita and the flawlessness of the blade. Halal authorities are divided on stunning; kosher practice generally does not accept it. Alcohol and separation rules. This is the sharpest difference: halal forbids alcohol, kashrut permits it (wine merely carries extra rules). Conversely, meat/dairy separation — separate equipment and a waiting period — is fundamental to kashrut and has no halal equivalent. Auditing. Both work on "certificate plus site inspection"; who issued the certificate, and against which standard, is what actually determines its weight. In practice: a kosher product gives many Muslims partial assurance because pork and carrion are excluded, but alcohol and the slaughter declaration still need separate checking. This comparison is informational, not a religious ruling.
What does vegan mean?
A vegan diet contains no animal-derived component at all: meat, fish, dairy, eggs, honey and their derivatives are all excluded. The Vegan Society's classic definition frames veganism not merely as a diet but as a way of living that seeks to exclude animal exploitation as far as is practicable — covering clothing and cosmetics as well as food. In food the real difficulty is the invisible ingredients: gelatin (from bone or hide), animal rennet used in cheesemaking, carmine/cochineal (E120, insect-derived), shellac (E904), vitamin D3 made from lanolin, wines and beers fined with isinglass, and sauces built on chicken stock. "It looks plant-based" is therefore not enough; you need the ingredient list or a clear answer from the business. Certification is voluntary. Marks such as V-Label or The Vegan Society's Vegan Trademark show the producer has passed an independent audit; in most countries the word "vegan" has no mandatory legal definition. A critical distinction: vegan does not mean halal. A vegan menu may still use cooking alcohol (wine, liqueur, vanilla extract), and a kitchen that serves alcohol can cross-contaminate. The reverse holds too — a halal-certified product may be non-vegan because it contains animal ingredients. The two criteria do not substitute for one another; if you need both, verify each separately.
What does organic mean?
Organic is a legal production standard describing how food is grown — not a claim about nutrition or taste. As a rule it excludes synthetic pesticides, synthetic fertilisers, sewage sludge, ionising radiation and genetically modified organisms; soil fertility is maintained through crop rotation, compost and green manure. In animal production the livestock receive organic feed, must have access to pasture, and growth hormones or routine antibiotics are not allowed. The standard differs by jurisdiction: the USDA National Organic Program in the United States, the EU organic farming regulation in Europe, and the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry's organic farming regulation in Türkiye. In all three the producer is audited regularly by an independent control and certification body, and only a certified product may carry the word "organic". Converting conventional land to organic production usually takes two to three years. Labels come in tiers: in the US, for instance, "100% organic", "organic" (at least 95% organic content) and "made with organic ingredients" (at least 70%) are separate categories. An important boundary: organic does not imply halal, kosher, vegan or alcohol-free. An organic product may contain non-halal meat, alcohol or animal-derived additives — those are separate criteria verified by separate certificates. Nor does organic certification replace hygiene and food-safety inspection.
What is kosher?
Kosher (Hebrew "kasher", fit) describes food that complies with kashrut, Jewish dietary law. The rules come from the Torah and are elaborated in rabbinic law: only land animals that both chew the cud and have cloven hooves, and fish with fins and scales, may be eaten; pork and shellfish are forbidden. Slaughter (shechita) is performed by a trained slaughterer (shochet) with a flawlessly sharp blade, followed by salting to remove blood. Meat and dairy are kept apart: separate utensils, separate preparation surfaces and, in most traditions, a waiting period between eating one and the other. During Passover additional restrictions apply to leavened products (chametz). Trust rests on inspection rather than on a person. A beth din (rabbinic court) or a certifying agency such as OU, OK or Star-K audits the production site and places a hechsher — the kosher mark — on the packaging. Agencies differ in strictness; "kosher" is not one single standard. There is real overlap with halal — pork is excluded, blood is drained at slaughter, trust is certificate-based — but the overlap is partial. Alcohol is in principle permitted in kashrut (wine only carries extra rules) while halal forbids it, and halal has no meat/dairy separation. A kosher-certified product is therefore not automatically halal: gelatin, enzymes and alcohol content still have to be checked.
What do the badges mean?
We summed up the trust tiers, where the data comes from, and what actually turns teal "Verified" — all on one page.
Looking for a place in a specific area?
Guide mode applies this knowledge to your criteria and your location.
This content is for information only, not a religious ruling; sources are always cited and differing opinions are included. Judge it against the standard you follow yourself.